The IIA Releases New Auditing Corporate Culture Book

Understanding and Auditing Corporate Culture — A Maturity Model Approach illustrates the five different levels of cultural maturity within an organization and maps the associated assurance and advisory services for each level.

This practical, go-to guide, created specifically for today’s chief audit executive (CAE) and mid-level managers, explains how greater maturity translates to greater stakeholder value. It combines both the “what” (corporate culture) and the “how” (using the maturity model).

After reading this book, internal auditors should be able to:

Identify the following elements of corporate culture:

  • Behaviors
  • Norms
  • Beliefs
  • Values
  • Tone at the top

Identify the following characteristics of maturity levels:

  • Level 1: Initial – process is unpredictable, poorly controlled, and reactive.
  • Level 2: Managed – process is characterized for projects and is often reactive.
  • Level 3: Defined – process is characterized for the organization and is proactive (projects tailor their process from the organization’s standard).
  • Level 4: Quantitatively Managed – process is measured and controlled.
  • Level 5: Optimizing – focus is on process improvement.

This new release is available through the IIA Bookstore.